G is for Game of Thrones #AtoZChallenge

ImageHey everyone! I want to lead off with a reminder of my contest for the entirety of the month of April. I am giving away a copy of one of my favorite books of all time, John Dies at the End. All you have to do to enter is follow me on twitter (@alexnaderwrites) and then tweet this message: Follow @AlexNaderWrites and RT this for a chance to win A copy of John Dies at the End in paperback

Now, on to the good stuff. Game of thrones is a fantasy TV show/novel series written by George R.R. Martin. The show and the books (I’ve only made it through two of the books so far, but in my defense they are really long) are both great.

The reason I like the series so much and what inspires me as a writer is how many characters there are and how huge the world is. My “biggest” novel had 9 major characters. The first book/season of Game of Thrones has no less than 652 major characters. Okay, so 652 is an exaggeration, but only a slight one.

What makes it even more amazing to me is that there is no true main character. The story covers multiple people equally. All of whom are very far separated for most of the story. There was one character who I thought was the main character in the first book/season and I was proved very wrong.

Game of Thrones makes me want to write a massive fantasy epic with 652 characters, but I think I’ll just try to get to a dozen first. Baby steps and all.

ImageImage

 

 

 

 

 

 

A is for Atmosphere

B is for Benny Imura

C is for Crow

D is for Doomtree

E is for Empathy

F is for Fight Club

G is for Game of Thrones

3 thoughts on “G is for Game of Thrones #AtoZChallenge

Leave a Reply

