F is for Fight Club #AtoZChallenge

ImageHey everyone! I want to lead off with a reminder of my contest for the entirety of the month of April. I am giving away a copy of one of my favorite books of all time, John Dies at the End. All you have to do to enter is follow me on twitter (@alexnaderwrites) and then tweet this message: Follow @AlexNaderWrites and RT this for a chance to win A copy of John Dies at the End in paperback

F is for Fight Club.
 
I have never seen a more quotable book/movie than Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk. I saw the movie when it came out and loved it. I got around to reading the book a few years back and found it very similar to the movie. I remember liking the ending a little better in the novel although I don’t exactly remember how they were different now.
 
The style of narrative is perfect for the story and everything about it just fits. I have read other books by Palahniuk and just couldn’t quite get in to them, but Fight Club inspires me to want to write a cult classic with quotes that still ring true almost 20 years later.
 
My favorite quotes:
 
“On a long enough timeline, the survival rate for everyone drops to zero.”
 
You buy furniture.  You tell yourself, this is the last sofa I will ever need in my life.  Buy the sofa, then for a couple years you’re satisfied that no matter what goes wrong, at least you’ve got your sofa issue handled.  Then the right set of dishes.  Then the perfect bed.  The drapes.  The rug.  Then you’re trapped in your lovely nest, and the things you used to own, now they own you”
 
Advertising has us chasing cars and clothes, working jobs we hate so we can buy shit we don’t need.”
 
ImageImage
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
A is for Atmosphere
B is for Benny Imura
C is for Crow
D is for Doomtree
E is for Empathy
F is for Fight Club
4 thoughts on “F is for Fight Club #AtoZChallenge

    • Right before that is another line that’s something like, “We’re all dying, but not in that Sylvia Plath sort of way.” Great movie, great book. They make me laugh all while pondering my own insignificance in this global corporate chain style world we live in.

    • I swear the book is only like 100 pages. I listened to it in audiobook and I think I finished it in 4 or 5 jogs. If you like the movie you’ll like the book, they are fairly similar.

Leave a Reply

