How #GamerGate looks to a non-gamer

I am not a gamer. I am so not a gamer. The last console game I played was Prince of Persia on a PS2. That’s right, a fucking Playstation 2. I don’t have any games on my phone, nothing. Hell, I only own one board game. So I repeat, I am not a gamer.

 

Now, this is the part where you avid in the gaming community might be shouting, ‘WHAT THE FUCK ARE YOU DOING TALKING ABOUT THE GAMING COMMUNITY THEN, YOU SELF-RIGHTEOUS ASSHOLE’. I’ll tell you why: because apparently #GamerGate is a big enough issue that it’s half-flooded my Twitter feed. And as such, your debate has played out in front of millions of non-gaming eyes. Lots and lots of people who don’t play video games see you. This is like when you were a kid and went on a field trip and the teacher was all, ‘Hey, fuckheads, you represent the school, so don’t go run out there like a bunch of shit-stains.” Well, that’s what my teachers did, anyway.

 

Gamergate is kind of like that.

 

You are on a national stage, representing the video game community and someone totally missed the ‘no shit-stain’ part of the memo.

 

A couple weeks ago, maybe a month, I saw an article about gamergate. I read the article that spent so much time bashing the opposition that by the time I was done, I had zero idea about the issue. Whatever, I ignored it. I don’t play games, didn’t figure my opinion mattered much. A few days later, I saw an article on Cracked.com about being the internet’s most hated person. The article said the whole thing started after the author went through a breakup that lead to an internet smear campaign. Okay, I thought, but what does this have to do with video games.

 

Again, I moved on. Over the next week, I saw a few retweets from threats or slurs because of this mysterious gamergate. Some of the shit was pretty heinous and a majority (Read: FUCKING ALL) of it was men (Or anonymous accounts) directed towards women.

 

So I asked, “What the fuck is gamergate?” and someone responded that it was a movement for equality in video game journalism. I repeat: Equality in video game journalism. Fucking odd, I thought, video game journalism arguments are fucking violent. The guy said there was more than it seemed and encouraged me to search out the hashtag to see what the movement is about.

 

I did. I read many tweets containing #GamerGate. My quick research taught me there are three types of people using the hashtag.

 

  1. Fuckheads doing little more than harassing and threatening others.
  2. The Others asking to not be threatened or harassed by fuckheads.
  3. Other others claiming that not are gamers are like fuckheads #1 and asking for the ‘Social Justice Warriors’ to get off their high horses.

 

Let me address the first issue, social justice warriors as an insult might be the dumbest thing I’ve ever heard. Hey, look out for those sons-of-bitches trying not to be racist, sexist, whatever-the-fuck-ist. I hate the term and it’s soon to be the source of many unfollows.

 

Now, I think everyone can agree, Fuckhead #1s can fuck off. They should be muted, marked as spam, and deleted. No, not from Twitter, from life. If your immediate response to criticism is “You’re a fag,” or “She’s a bitch,” or anything similar, you don’t belong in an adult discussion. None of that shit is relevant, but it brings me to my point: I don’t know what in the hell IS relevant because all I’m seeing is noise.

 

Gamers, you are on a huge stage, you are representing a lot of people and if you ask me, you’re doing a piss poor fucking job. As someone not involved in the community, I don’t hear about the good things going on. I don’t know what movements are in the works. The only thing I see is what’s right in front of my face. And the only thing in front of my face is slurs and insults and general douchebaggery. So think about that before you go and spout off about whatever. We, the world, are watching and judging you, gamers.

3 thoughts on “How #GamerGate looks to a non-gamer

  1. My hubby is a gamer, so I’ve heard a little, but I still had no idea what it was either. I think it’s something about transparency in game journalism. Hubby said something about journalists stating any connections they have that may influence their articles and reviews. As far as I can tell, that’s been lost (if that’s even what it was supposed to be about) and everyone is just slinging shit.

    • That’s the most definitive answer I’ve gotten so far. And are reviews supposed to be transparent or unbiased? I mean, I get how they are supposed to be, but at the same time, when my favorite author releases a new book, I’m probably going to like it better than anything else out at the moment. Does that make my review not count? I dunno, maybe. But yeah, you’re right, just lots of shit slinging.

      • You’re right. It’s hard for reviews to be unbiased in some way. I have no idea how transparent things are in the gaming community when it comes to reviews. Of course, it doesn’t really matter to me because I don’t play much, and when I do, I don’t review.

Leave a Reply

