E-reader and book collector?

I do 98% of my reading on my phone. Think what you want, it’s just plain convenient. I always have my phone with me and it’s easy just to open the Kindle app and read a couple pages here and there. Books are great and easier on the eyes, but I just can’t carry an actual book with me at all times.

Now, the real problem is, I collect shit. Comic books, posters, action figures, albums, whatever. I’ve got a giant glass display case and a ton of bookshelves full of stuff, but almost all of the books on the shelves belong to my wife. She can easily read a novel in one sitting, but it takes me a minimum of five days and probably closer to three weeks for every book I read. Anyway, the bigger reason I don’t own a lot of physical books is because I read them on my phone and a book has to be damn good to buy it twice. Even still, I find myself buying my favorite books that I’ve already read, just to have the book to put on the shelf.

This is somewhere I think the music industry is ahead of the publishing industry. (Disclaimer: I don’t know the slightest thing about the publishing industry, so consider these ignorant ramblings of someone too lazy to research) Almost all the major music labels give a free digital download with the purchase of a cd. Because of this, I usually buy my albums on vinyl. The vinyl looks better on the shelf and I listen to all my music on my phone so the digital download takes care of that. I’ve also seen some Marvel comics doing this as well.

I have yet to see a publisher offer digital download along with the purchase of the physical copy of the book. I understand that it’s probably got a lot to do with pirating and keeping the files from being shared and maybe that’s where Amazon and Barnes and Noble need to step in. Surely they could work it out that when you order the book from there website it’s auto-delivered to Kindle or Nook. Piracy is probably still an issue, but piracy will always be an issue with anything digitally available.

That’s my two cents. What do you guys think? Make sense or am I just dumb?

 

One thought on “E-reader and book collector?

  1. I think it makes perfect sense. Dark Horse and some other imprints are already doing this with comics. Time for book publishers to join the 21st century!

Leave a Reply

