Under The Cover: Beasts of Burdin

     Okay guys, so in three days my cover for Beasts of Burdin is going to be revealed to the world. I’m super excited and can’t wait for you all to see it. To get everyone ready for the reveal I thought I would tell you a little bit of what went on to get the cover what it is.

     Disclaimer: I think my cover is awesome and I think the team at J. Taylor did a great job at bringing a picture to my words. I was very picky about the cover and they worked with me every step of the way.

     When my book was first approved I was asked what other cover designs I liked to imitate for Burdin. I like the idea of something simple like Dashiell Hammett’s Thin Man or Charlie Huston’s Joe Pitt books. I definitely wanted a cigarette and glass of whiskey on the cover. Oddly enough, I don’t smoke and drink only occasionally, but Ty Burdin does both to excess.

    Cigarettes and alcohol got vetoed. They sent me a cover to see how I liked it. As soon as I opened the attachment in my email my heart dropped. It was a picture of a dark alley (good) with a man on the cover that looked more like he belonged on Jersey Shore than drinking himself into a hole.

     I spent a very long time trying to craft an email back to the publisher to express how little I cared for the cover. After a couple more idea exchanges we ended up with the correct person on the cover. Then came the color disagreement.

     The publisher wanted a blue hue for the entire cover and I wanted more of a sepia color tone. Burdin has a very retro feel about him and I wanted that displayed on the cover. I was told that blue looked more like urban fantasy and we needed to remind readers what kind of book Burdin really is. After a great deal of complaining on my part we came to a beautiful agreement and that is what you are going to see on Monday.

     Thanks to everyone at JTP for giving me a cover I’m proud of and I hope you all like it.

2 thoughts on “Under The Cover: Beasts of Burdin

  1. Ah, cover compromise. It’s a special kind of stress, isn’t it? But so worth it when you find something everyone on the team can feel good about. I give JTP a lot of credit for working so patiently with us persnickety artists. X)

Leave a Reply

