Thoughts on Thursday

Welcome to my second week of weekly blogging. I’m glad you’re still with me. No really, thanks guys, it means a lot. Okay, done with greetings, let’s get some meat to go with these potatoes.

This has been a pretty busy week for me. I spent a few days working out my cover for Beasts of Burdin, but there will be more about that next week. I’ve also gotten quite a bit of writing done. I’ve been working on Burdin II for three weeks and I’m right around 23k words. That’s sticking with my 1,000 a day rule. Good for me.

The more important part of all is, in the past week I’ve written probably one of the best scenes I’ve ever written. It’s a dream sequence with heavy does of creepy. Two days later I wrote probably the most believable character I’ve ever written. She’s just a little old lady with a crap family and she’s only in the book for a chapter, but something about her just comes off the page for me. Hopefully she does for you too.

What I’m getting around to is, maybe I’m getting better at this whole writing thing. I’ve been writing seriously for over a year and a half now as well as reading constantly for the first time in my life. I’ve also finished three books on grammar and style.

I don’t want to admit that I was bad before, but it seems like I’m constantly improving. I have gotten to the point where when I see a scene in my head it’s not a problem to get it on paper. I don’t think I’m a fraction of a percent of mastering anything, but I’m getting better and that feels good.

I’ve officially written far more than I planned, so I’m going to shut up now, but first I want to ask a question. If you’re a writer, how do you feel about your skill-set? Are you a pro? Beginner? If you’re not a writer, what is a serious hobby you find yourself as proficient in?

Keep doing what you do, you’ll get better at it, guaranteed.

12 thoughts on “Thoughts on Thursday

  1. I usually think I totally suck ‘as’ I’m writing, because writing is an uphill struggle most days. Then I feel proud of myself when I manage to complete a project, and find what I believe are some ‘real gems’ moments in my writing that make me believe a little more. And then I’m lucky enough to have a few readers who don’t think my writing sucks at all, and they help me to open a new document and start all over again. After all, the biggest challenges in life are often the most rewarding.

  2. Greetings and Salutations to you too.

    Possibly the reason why I haven’t exactly made that final effort to complete my book is because, although I enjoy my story, I have this nagging feeling that I’m kidding myself. I’m also working on 1,000 words a day and sometimes make it and other times I don’t. What I have found is that when my brain is fully engaged in the process, some of my work is actually not bad. After completing A-Z, I’ve set myself a personal challenge to finish by the end of June so wish me luck… πŸ™‚

    • You can do it, I’m sure of it. I don’t remember what book it was, but I read a book about writing once that said you need a couple different types of readers for your writing and one of those is someone who is always behind what you do. If you don’t have one of those you should really look into it πŸ™‚

  3. I’m no pro by any means, but I don’t think of myself as a beginner either. I have good scenes, great scenes, and crappy ones. Even after writing since the 8th grade!

    I, like Felicity often think I’m kidding myself. BUT I did get some stuff published. Guess sticking with it & learning on a daily basis is worth the effort.

    Looking forward to your cover!

  4. I have my down-on-myself days, same as most people. By and large, though, I’m pretty pleased with what I can do with words. I’ve written stories I adore (and which other people adore… and which I’m looking forward to even *more* people adoring!), and I try to keep the faith that I can do it all again. Some passages will come easy, some will fight me every step of the way; it has ever been thus, and I’m still here, loving what I do.

    Glad to hear things are going well for you. Onward and upward!

  5. I can put a sentence together. I’ve learned a lot by putting figures to the keyboard and pen to paper. Yet no matter how much I improve I still see flaws. I think I’m the type of person who will never feel that my work is good enough, and send it away when I’ve done the best I can expecting rejection and hopefully feedback. πŸ™‚

    • I usually get tired of trying to perfect stuff and send it off out of frustration and then get ticked at myself when I read what I sent off and it wasn’t good enough. It’s a vicious cycle really.

Leave a Reply

