R is for Rise Against

Image

R is for rise against. I think they’re classified as a melodic hardcore punk band. What that translates to is a fast-playing rock band where the singer is capable of singing.

I know a bunch of my posts have been about music, but music inspires me as much or more than anything else.

Rise against have been around for a while now and one of my favorite things about the band is that every song has a point.

Whether its poverty or social inequality or poorly run government systems these guys have opinions and they’re not afraid to share them over blasting guitar riffs. To me their older music was on a more personal level while their newer stuff seems to take things to a global level. I prefer personal, but it’s all good either way.

My favorite lyrics: “We’ll get by just fine here on minimum wage. If love is a labor I’ll slave till the end”

“Lets take this one day at a time. Ill hold your hand if you hold mine. The time that we kill keeps us alive.”

Here’s a newer music video. If it doesn’t make you sad or angry you either aren’t old enough to remember Katrina or you have no soul.

Only ten days left to enter to win a copy of one of my favorite books, John Dies at the End. All you have to do to enter is follow me on twitter (@alexnaderwrites) and then tweet this message: Follow @AlexNaderWrites and RT this for a chance to win A copy of John Dies at the End in paperback

6 thoughts on “R is for Rise Against

    • Siren Song of the Counter Culture and The Sufferer and the Witness were definitely their two best. The two they’ve had since then have been good, but not as good. Counter Culture is probably one of my top three albums of all time.

  1. Pingback: Liferuiner have signed with Transcend Music | The Bite Mag

Leave a Reply

