P is for Psychostick #AtoZChallenge

ImageOkay, I know what you’re thinking. “Psychostick? That sounds like the name of a death metal band. How is that inspiring to an author?”

If that’s what you’re thinking, I’ll explain. If it’s not then…oh well you can’t be right all the time. I’m not a fortune teller you know.

Psychostick is a metal band although they call their genre humor-core. They play loud music with hilarious lyrics with topics ranging from being stuck working in a fast food restaurant to going to a concert to having a clingy girlfriend.

What Psychostick has taught me about writing is to never take anything too seriously. These guys are in a genre that surrounded by songs of death and dismemberment and they’re singing about tacos. No really, they have an entire album dedicated to food. If they can have fun with metal, I damn sure better be able to have fun with my writing.

Reminder, I am giving away a copy of one of my favorite books, John Dies at the End. All you have to do to enter is follow me on twitter (@alexnaderwrites) and then tweet this message: Follow @AlexNaderWrites and RT this for a chance to win A copy of John Dies at the End in paperback

Here’s a song off their newest album Space Vampires Versus Zombie Dinosaurs in 3D. And I should probably throw out a language warning, but you guys expected that right?

A is for Atmosphere

B is for Benny Imura

C is for Crow

D is for Doomtree

E is for Empathy

F is for Fight Club

G is for Game of Thrones

H is for Heart-Shaped Box

I is for Internet

J is for John Dies at the end

K is for Kids

L is for Logan and (Remy) LeBeau

M is for Muse

N is for Noir FIction

O is for On Writing

7 thoughts on “P is for Psychostick #AtoZChallenge

    • I’ve got a friend who’s really into metal. I appreciate the musical talent, but don’t so much care for the barking so I asked him if he knew of anything less disturbing. Psychostick is what I ended up with. And Austrian Death Machine, a metal band devoted to Arnold Schwarzenegger. I know that’s not how you spell his name, but it’s not worth looking up.

  1. what a great name & genre!
    and looking thru your other posts, great topics!
    game of thrones! i know what is coming and it will shock you! love it!
    but my fave so far is your noir post. that is how i define my book, techno-noir, but so few know what it means. you described it perfectly!

  2. Hadn’t heard of them but I love the name! Great to meet another Game of Thrones fan, I am totally in love with the show and the books! šŸ™‚

    I’m stopping by from A-Z and so glad to find your blog, really nice to meet you.

Leave a Reply

