N is for Noir Fiction #AtoZchallenge

ImageContinuing right along with some writing influences today we have the letter N. N is for Noir fiction.

I’m pretty excited about this one too because Noir, or Hard-Boiled, or whatever you want to call it is one of my favorite genres of books. It’s really kind of odd the more I think about it because it is the only genre where I don’t particularly care what the story is. It’s not that I don’t like mysteries or anything, really I do, it’s just the thing that draws me to noir is the writing.

It’s raw and gritty and dirty and sparse. There’s not a whole lot of big, deep metaphors or anything like that. They just tell it how it is. That goes for the dialogue too. The way the characters interact is wonderful. They don’t throw out broad, foul worded insults. Instead they say things about each other in a brutal honesty. Why waste a cuss word when you can just tell a character their personal short comings. I don’t know why I think this is so much fun to read, but it is.

My personal favorite is Dashiell Hammett. His most famous work is The Maltese Falcon, but the first thing I read by him was The Thin Man. To this day The Thin Man is one of my favorite books. I’ve also read a little bit of Raymond Chandler and I am in the middle of The Black Dahlia by James Ellroy right now.

What about you guys? Any hard-boiled suggestions?

Image

Also, I am giving away a copy of one of my favorite books, John Dies at the End. All you have to do to enter is follow me on twitter (@alexnaderwrites) and then tweet this message: Follow @AlexNaderWrites and RT this for a chance to win A copy of John Dies at the End in paperback

9 thoughts on “N is for Noir Fiction #AtoZchallenge

Leave a Reply

