L is for Logan & (Remy) LeBeau #AtoZChallenge

ImageToday’s post is for two of my favorite three comic book characters of all time. Logan, better known as wolverine, and Remy LeBeau, better known as Gambit.

I grew up on the X-Men cartoon and reading X-Men comics mostly out of order and never getting reading the full story line. As an adult I try to catch up on my comic reading whenever I can.

Before I continue, I want to say that I do not count the Wolverine Origins movie for the purpose of this article. It was an okay movie, but as far as the characters go it was not so great. Hugh Jackman is great as Wolverine, but the guy who played Gambit totally ruined it. I digress.

Wolverine is the ultimate I-don’t-give-a-shit-about-shit badass. He’s a drifter who doesn’t really care about a team effort (the x-men) and has a past that goes back for a couple hundred years. The only drawback to him is he’s Canadian, but he makes up for that by having a metal infused skeleton with three razor-sharp claws in each hand.

Gambit is a lot the same in that he’s kind of an outsider, but where Wolverine is ruff and tough, Gambit is smooth and cool. He’s a gambler and a smooth talking ladies man. He can infuse things, usually playing cards, with energy and blow some stuff up.

Two great characters and I hope that future movies will do a better job portraying them.

Note to Marvel: Please recast Gambit.

Note to Canadians: No offense guys.

ImageImage

10 thoughts on “L is for Logan & (Remy) LeBeau #AtoZChallenge

  1. My older brother had a bunch of Marvel comics when he was in the Navy and he sent them to my parents’ house to store them. I’d spend hours reading them. I also watched the comic when I was younger (it’s on Netflix now!!!!)

  2. Wolverine and Gambit are the stuff! I got my first introduction to them via the X-Men’s ’90s animated show, and these two characters were my hands-down favorites. I quite agree about the Gambit casting in “X-Men Origins: Wolverine”; I like the movie, but Gambit was not done justice by a long shot.

    • Not only was Gambit’s accent wrong for the movie (sounded like he lost the French accent and swallowed some gravel), but he went the entire time on screen without a single mon cher or mon ami. Dumb. Taylor Kitsch is as well suited to play Gambit as Kristen Stewart is suited for acting.

Leave a Reply

