I is for the Internet, of course #AtoZChallenge

ImageTo keep those of you new to the blog up to date, my theme for the A to Z Challenge has been things that help and inspire me as a writer.

Today is the internet. I truly cannot imagine how people wrote without it. Don’t know how to spell a word? Google. Need a brush up on proper hyphen usage? Google. Need to know what kind of cake 17th century French knights ate atop their steads as they marched into battle against the Brazilians? Google. (Google may have a hard time finding results for that last one, but keep looking, you’ll find something.)

I find myself writing sometimes with my browser open for fact checking. I have a real round-a-bout kind of memory so I always like to double check those things I’m hazy about.

The internet can also showcase some of humanity’s awfulness. If I ever need a new and probably misspelled insult I just have to check the comments section of pretty much any internet article ever. This is a totally different subject for a different time. This is a happy article about how helpful the internet can be. Dammit.

Recap:

A is for Atmosphere

B is for Benny Imura

C is for Crow

D is for Doomtree

E is for Empathy

F is for Fight Club

G is for Game of Thrones

H is for Heart-Shaped Box

I is for Internet

4 thoughts on “I is for the Internet, of course #AtoZChallenge

    • I’ve definitely done a few searches that I was sure would have the FBI or ATF or something knocking on my door. I can see it now.

      Armed man at my door in sunglasses: “Excuse me Mr. Nader, have you been searching for reliable poisons to cause heart-attack-like symptoms in healthy adults?”

      Me: “Yes, but I can explain. It was research.”

      Armed man: “Are those human skulls hanging from the tree in your yard?”

      Me: “About that…”

Leave a Reply

