B is for Benny Imura #AtoZchallenge @JonathanMaberry

ImageToday is day two of the April A to Z challenge. The theme of my posts is what has inspired my writing.

Today’s post is Benny Imura, the lead character in Jonathan Maberry’s Rot & Ruin series. It is a teen series about life after the zombie apocalypse. I can’t remember how I came across the book, but I was very skeptical about reading a teen novel. For whatever reason I just assumed it wouldn’t be very good since it was for “kids”. Boy was I wrong. I’ve read all three of the books in the series and other than a lack of strong language, I couldn’t tell you how this was any different from an adult novel.

The story is also heart-wrenching, something that I was not expecting from a book about zombies. Some gore and some rotted fight scenes I was ready for, but not the emotional agony the characters go through for the entirety of the third book.

Now I realize that just cause it’s teen, doesn’t mean it’s bad. Maybe I’ll even write a teen novel one day…

Image

Recap:

A is for Atmosphere

B is for Benny Imura

P.S. I’ve just started a contest that will run through the end of this month. All you have to do is follow me on twitter and tweet this message: Follow @AlexNaderWrites and RT this for a chance to win A copy of John Dies at the End in paperback http://tweetsw.in/2191/

More info here.

6 thoughts on “B is for Benny Imura #AtoZchallenge @JonathanMaberry

  1. Pingback: B is for Bio #AtoZChallenge » E-BookBuilders

  2. I’ve found quite a few YA books I have liked. I really like the Walking Dead–so does my son. I’ll have to check out this series. Thanks for sharing. Tweeted your contest and am following you on Twitter.:)

    • Thank you for the follow. If you like walking dead you should enjoy the rot and ruin series. They are similar in that they are both about a zombie apocalypse, but the bigger evil is the surviving humans, not the flesh eating monsters.

Leave a Reply

