A is for Atmosphere

Okay, so I hope I’m not too late for this thing. Brief intro: I am a rather new author and I’m going to use this list to show what’s inspired me. Done.

Day one: A is for Atmosphere. No, not all that air and gas and stuff. I’m talking about the hip-hop duo Atmosphere. Hip-hop isn’t for everyone and it’s honestly not even my favorite genre, but the ability they have to put a story into a song amazes me.

On the album “When Life Gives You Lemons You Paint That Shit Gold” every single track is a story of new characters and almost every one of them is heartbreaking. The amount of emotion that they can pack into three minutes is something that I am envious of. I swear they pack more into a song than I do a 70,000 word novel. (I really, probably shouldn’t admit that…)

That’s all till tomorrow.

10 thoughts on “A is for Atmosphere

  1. Never heard of them, but that’s probably because I don’t ‘do’ hip hop. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Blog is looking good & way to dive in head first. Good for you!

  2. I love love love Atmosphere. The first song of theirs I heard was ‘The Woman With The Tattooed Hands’ and I think that is one of the most lyrically amazing pieces that has ever entered my ears.

  3. Hey Alex. Perfect A to Z post, short, interesting and to the point. I haven’t heard of them either, but love hip hop. I will check them out. But, I feel the same way about song writers in general. The way they convey so much emotion into a short amount of words is amazing.

    • Thanks for the good words Sydney. If you’re a fan of hip-hop and emotional story telling there’s no reason you shouldn’t love some Atmosphere. Also check back on Thursday. It’s the only other hip-hop group I plan on mentioning this month, but it’s equally as good as Atmosphere.

  4. You’re off to a great start. If that means anything coming from another fairly new blogger. ๐Ÿ™‚
    I’ve never heard of Atmosphere, and I don’t really listen to hip-hop, but you actually made me want to check them out. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Pingback: B is for Benny Imura #AtoZchallenge @JonathanMaberry | Alex Nader Writes

Leave a Reply

